The ultimate trendy frugalista’s tote bag

I am a huge handbag lover – which is weird, because I’m such a deal-hunter in all areas of my life, but I have no problem plunking down a few thousand for a handbag if I really fall in love.  For the past few years though, I’ve begun using the Longchamp tote more and more.  It started when I needed a understated, practical bag that was commute-friendly (it never felt quite right to be carrying a LV or YSL bag on the train and running through the subway) but could also handle all my work docs.

Longchamp - Le PliageLongchamp – Le Pliage

PRICE: $145.00
Longchamp’s signature nylon tote in a large size lends sophisticated chic to every look, from city jaunts to weekend getaways. Folds up for ease during travel.
  • Double shoulder straps
  • Front flap with snap and top-zip closures, interior pocket
  • Unlined. Nylon with leather trim. Made in France
  • 13″W base and 19.25″W top x 13″H x 7.5″D
  • 10″ drop

I find the Le Pliage to be more sophisticated looking with the leather contrast flap, but material wise, the Planetes is much thicker material and feels much more luxurious.  My co-workers and I have all used both the Le Pliage and Planetes daily for more than three years, but Planetes definitely holds up much better.  The handles look entirely new even after daily use, with the bottoms showing only slight scuffing.  If only the Planetes came in black with the brown leather flap, I’d be a happy, happy girl.

Longchamp – Planetes

Nylon tote with leather trim and double shoulder straps. Front snap flap and top zip closures. Interior zip pocket.

  • Nylon
  • 11″W x 11.5″H x 7″D
  • 9″ drop from shoulder
  • Imported from France

 

 

 

 

 

And to throw in some money-saving ideas for these bags, you can sometimes find them at Nordstrom Rack, and I’ve even seen them at Marshalls.

 

      2 thoughts on “The ultimate trendy frugalista’s tote bag

      1. I’ve heard so much about this longchamp bags but couldn’t bite the bullet to plunk down $150 for a tote (yes, I’m cheap!). I definitely like the look of the LePliage more. I would love it in a navy colour with the brown leather flap.

        Funny thing is, I found out about the longchamp bag when I brought my new tote to work, and my fashionista co-worker thought that it was the longchamp bag. I had no idea until she pointed it out.

      Leave a Reply

