1.81 ct ring “too small” on her hand

Shopgirlee1122 on Pricescope thinks her new engagement ring looks a little too small. It’s 1.81 carats, with gorgeous hearts and arrows, and her fiancee picked it out for her based on all her requests. It is everything she wanted, just maybe the rock isn’t as big as she thought it would appear on her hand.

As you might expect, there were plenty of comments in the thread, and I understand she is in New York, where expectations might be a little higher, but her ring is twice the national average of 0.90 ct. In Europe, the average ring size is 0.30 ct. In her posts, she’s way more concerned with the “everyone says this…” “everyone says that…”, instead of how she feels, which I just find kind of odd. But that’s just me. I’m the one who married my husband nearly three years ago and just recently got an engagement ring (we specialize in doing everything backwards).

I love Pricescope and have spent plenty of time drooling over rings, and posters on there tend to encourage larg(er) diamond purchases, (it is a diamond lover’s forum, after all!), so I was amused to see what some of them had to say. This post was from 2009, so I wonder how things worked out – did she upgrade? Was she finally happy? Was he offended? Did they actually marry?

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “1.81 ct ring “too small” on her hand

  1. I feel like you can never get it right with these diamond discussions. It’s too big, too small, too ostentatious, not noticeable enough… it’s enough to make this girl chuck the whole solitaire engagement ring discussion and just go for a diamond band.

    • That’s exactly what I do!

      I admit though, as one of a hiring team, I do check out what an interviewee is wearing. For women, no matter what size ring you wear, an impression is made, and it can be difficult to change that once it’s been made. I find that wearing a simple band is usually the best bet.

Leave a Reply

